DIY Media Reading Response

Wow- Talk about overload… So much new information to me. It was very interesting to actually read the background of DIY I had no idea that it went back to the 70’s. I thought this was a fairly new trend- such as what we are seeing on all the tv shows, pinterest, etsy, etc. Little did I know how far back this idea dates.

I found many things interesting in this chapter but a few really stuck out to me. The biggest point that I took from this chapter was the idea of a pull classroom which embraces a participatory culture. I loved the list of what makes a participatory culture. I think this is something that is already somewhat happening in a lot of classrooms, mine included however we are not calling it such. I think that it is so important to address this culture, especially

4. Where members believe that their contributions matter

This is such an important part of any classroom culture. I also enjoyed reading about allowing tinkering in this digital media. This is something that I would really like to encourage my students to do. I want them to be able to check out many different digital mediums and then be able to use and create with their chosen medium.

I also have never heard of zines and found this so fascinating. I love that they were originally to promote music and concerts. I would love to be able to find some original zines as well as some current zines to show students. I think this is something that students would love to create and be able to share with an audience. I can see tinkering with this idea of zines in the old school way first and initially having students actually cut and paste to create their zines. However, I would love to be able to move forward and allow them to create digital zines.

The last thing that really stuck with me was the idea of not necessarily pushing a professional product or outcome. I think this is a very important point for me to keep in mind not only personally but as a teacher as well. I know that I have recently been tinkering in many different types of media and technology. I have created products that are by no means professional. However, I am quite proud of my outcomes. I am proud of the process that I took to get to the final product. I have always believed in learning that the process is more important than the product so I really appreciated that this was pointed out in this chapter.

 

Overall, another great chapter that has my head spinning with a million ideas of how to use this technology in my classroom. I guess I should be grateful, I mean the more ideas one has the better, right?

 

 

Leave a Reply

